Monday, June 17, 2013

Proposed Sanctorale for 7 July - 31 July

7 July - Sts. Cyril & Methodius, Bishops & Confessors; Semidouble, White
8 July - Feria
9 July - Feria
10 July - Seven Holy Brothers, Rufina & Secunda, Martyrs; Semidouble, Red
11 July - St. Pius I, Pope & Martyr; Simple, Red
12 July - Sts. Nabor & Felix, Martyrs; Simple, Red
13 July - St. Anacletus, Pope & Martyr; Semidouble, Red
14 July - St. Bonaventure, Bishop, Confessor, & Doctor; Semidouble, White
15 July - Feria
16 July - Feria (In NJ and other locales: Our Lady of Mount Carmel; Double Major, White)
17 July - St. Alexius, Confessor; Simple, White
18 July - Sts. Symphorosa & her Seven Sons, Martyrs; Simple, Red
19 July - St. Vincent de Paul, Confessor; Simple, White
20 July - St. Margaret, Virgin & Martyr; Simple, Red
21 July - St. Praxedes, Virgin; Simple, White
22 July - St. Mary Magdalene, Penitent; Double, White
23 July - St. Apollinaris, Bishop & Martyr; Double, Red
24 July - Vigil; Simple, Violet; Commemoration of St. Christina, Virgin & Martyr
25 July - St. James the Greater, Apostle & Martyr; Double II Class, Red; Commemoration of St. Christopher
26 July - St. Anne, Mother of the B.V.M., Double Major, White
27 July - St. Pantaleon, Martyr; Simple, Red
28 July - Sts. Nazarus & Celsus, Pope Innocent I, Maryrs, & Victor I, Confessor; Semidouble, Red
29 July - St. Martha, Virgin; Semidouble, White
30 July - Sts. Abdon & Sennen, Martyrs; Simple, Red
31 July - St. Ignatius of Loyola, Confessor; Double, White

Feasts added since 1570:
1. Sts. Cyril & Methodius - "Apostles" of the Slavic peoples, which merits a universal semidouble observance.
2. Our Lady of Mount Carmel - devotional, added but kept at Simple rank. This is a Double Major feast on the 1911-1960 Calendars. Make this a Double I Class for the Carmelite order.
3. St. Vincent de Paul - has some universal following a merits a Simple observance.
3. St. Anne - one of the misguided casualties of St. Pius V's necessary "vacuum cleaning" in 1568/1570. St. Anne was added back not too long after (by Clement VIII, I believe) with a Double/Double Major rank. We follow Clement's protocol here.
4. St. Ignatius of Loyola - founder of the Jesuits, major religious order of the Counter-Reformation, merits a Double rank for the same reason Sts. Francis, Benedict, Dominic et al. would. In the Jesuit Order, his feast would be Double I Class with a particular Common Octave as was the case before 1956.

Feasts in the 1954 & 1962 Calendars which do not merit universal observance, but could be observed in particular places and religious orders:
1. 8 July - St. Elizabeth of Hungary, Queen & Widow (properly should remain a local patroness, as much as I am a monarchist)
2. 12 July - St. John Gualbert, Confessor (lesser known, particular cult)
3. 15 July - St. Henry, Emperor & Confessor (local patron)
4. 18 July - St. Camillus de Lellis, Confessor (lesser known, particular cult)
5. 20 July - St. Jerome Aemiliani, Confessor (ditto)
6. 21 July - St. Lawrence of Brindisi, Confessor & Doctor (this saint was canonized by Leo XIII, but wasn't given a liturgical observance until 1961 after John XXIII made him a doctor; still a very localized and new saint without a universal following).

Summary of the 25 days above:
Total Days of Semidouble and Double Offices (i.e. Festal Offices) = 11, only 5 of which would displace a Sunday. By comparison, in 1910, there were 7 more Double feasts for a total of 12 out of 25 days in which the Sunday Office would have been superseded.

Total Feriae and Simples = 14.
Balance of Festal to Ferial Offices = 44% to 56%, well within the normative range of preserving St. Pius V's balance.

No comments:

Post a Comment